Bachelor’s degree · BS
Hospitality and Event Management
Kent State University · Department of Sport, Hospitality and Event Management · Kent campus, Kent, Ohio, United States
Research checked 19 October 2026
- Official award
- Hospitality and Event Management - B.S.
- Delivery
- On-campusStudy intensity not stated
- Duration
- Not published
- Awarded by
- Kent State University
Where you study, who teaches, who awards
Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.
- Where you study
- Kent campus, Kent, Ohio, United States
- Who teaches
- Kent State University
- Who awards the degree
- Kent State UniversitySource
- Arrangement
- Awarded by the institution itselfThe institution is itself degree-granting and confers this degree.
About this program
Bachelor's with sanitation, food production and hotel operations coursework plus an 18-credit concentration made from two of three focus areas: event, food and beverage, and hotel and resort management.
- Level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Subject
- Hospitality & events, Hotel management, Restaurant & foodservice
- Specializations
- Event Management/Food and Beverage Management, Event Management/Hotel and Resort Management, Food and Beverage Management/Hotel and Resort Management
Study structure
- Delivery
- On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Study intensity
- Not statedFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
- Duration
- Not published
- Credits
- 120 (US semester credit hours)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching languages
- English
- English pathway
- English pathway not stated
- Curriculum areas
- Sanitation and safety, Food and beverage management, Hotel and resort management, Event management, Revenue management
- Internship or placement
- Internship or placement requiredStudents must complete 400 hours of industry experience before taking two upper-level courses (HEM 33050 and HEM 43092, the latter a practicum).Length: 400 hoursA placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.
Admissions
As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.
- Academic requirements
- Current Kent State students changing major need a minimum of 12 attempted credit hours and a 2.000 overall Kent State GPA.
Fees and financial assistance
Residents · USD · Students beginning Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 (Golden Guarantee plan)
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate tuition, Kent campus, Ohio residentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Based on 12-18 semester hours (two semesters); program and special course fees are additional; food and housing (14,360 USD) are listed separately. | USD 13,848.40per year, Students beginning Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 (Golden Guarantee plan) | Residents | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.
Non-residents · USD · Students beginning Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 (Golden Guarantee plan)
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate tuition, Kent campus, non-Ohio residentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Based on 12-18 semester hours (two semesters); program and special course fees are additional; the non-resident surcharge is subject to change each fall. | USD 24,298per year, Students beginning Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 (Golden Guarantee plan) | Non-residents | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.
Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.
No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.
Recognition
Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.
Kent State University, Kent campus
Stated by the institutionAccreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)Program accreditation
Scope: Hospitality and Event Management B.S. as listed on the university catalog page; the catalog does not state which campuses are covered.
A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
Verified in an official recordAccreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)Program accreditation
Reference: Directory listing 'Kent State University': Grant of Accreditation with stipulation for seven years (2024-2031).
Scope: Hospitality program listed under this institution name in the ACPHA accredited programs directory; the directory entry does not state which degree level or campus it covers.
A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
Verified in an official recordAccreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)Program accreditation
Reference: ACPHA 'Profile of Accredited Program' page for this institution
Scope: Degrees listed in the ACPHA profile of the accredited program: BS Hospitality Management. Applies to the program named in the profile; other degrees or campuses of the institution are not covered by this record.
A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time status.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)