Research doctorate · PhD
Hospitality, Tourism, Transport and Events PhD
University of Surrey · Stag Hill campus, Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Research checked 19 October 2026
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Hospitality, Tourism, Transport and Events
- Delivery
- On-campusFull-time or Part-time
- Duration
- 48/48 months full-time; 96/96 months part-time
- Awarded by
- University of Surrey
Where you study, who teaches, who awards
Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.
- Where you study
- Stag Hill campus, Guildford, England, United Kingdom
- Who teaches
- University of Surrey
- Who awards the degree
- University of SurreySource
- Arrangement
- Awarded by the institution itselfThe institution is itself degree-granting and confers this degree.
About this program
Research doctorate in hospitality, tourism, events and transport with full-time, part-time and distance-learning options and several start dates a year.
- Level
- Research doctorate
- Subject
- Hospitality & tourism, Other specializationsCombined hospitality, tourism, transport and events research degree
- Doctoral classification
- Dedicated hospitality doctorate
- Research areas
- Competitiveness of the visitor economy, Economic modelling and forecasting, Innovation, entrepreneurship, risk and uncertainty, Future of work and labour mobility
- Supervision
- Students receive subject and methodological supervision with research methods training
Study structure
- Delivery
- On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular on-campus attendance
- Study intensity
- Full-time and Part-timeFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
- Duration
- 48/48 months full-time; 96/96 months part-time
- Teaching languages
- English
- English pathway
- English pathway not stated
- Intakes
- April 2027 · Stag Hill campus
- July 2027 · Stag Hill campus
- October 2027 · Stag Hill campus
- January 2028 · Stag Hill campus
- Internship or placement
- Internship requirement not statedA placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.
Admissions
As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.
- Academic requirements
- Masters degree at a minimum of a distinction level in a relevant discipline, or a first-class bachelors degree or other qualification deemed appropriate
- Language requirements
- IELTS Academic: 7.0 or above with a minimum of 6.5 in each component (or equivalent)
- Intakes
- April 2027
- July 2027
- October 2027
- January 2028
Fees and financial assistance
Domestic students · GBP · April 2027 start
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition, full-time, April 2027 start, UKTuitionIncludes: Asterisk footnote on page: any start date other than September may be affected; page has a Fees per year section | GBP 5,238per year, April 2027 start | Domestic students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.
International students · GBP · April 2027 start
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition, full-time, April 2027 start, overseasTuitionIncludes: Page label: Overseas fees; annual fees increase by 4% per year of study | GBP 22,700per year, April 2027 start | International students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Annual tuition, part-time, April 2027 start, overseasTuition | GBP 11,400per year, April 2027 start | International students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.
Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.
No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.
Recognition
Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.
University of Surrey, Stag Hill campus
Verified in an official recordEducation (Recognised Bodies) (Scotland) Order 2018Institutional recognition
Scope: Institution listed as a recognised body in the Schedule of Scottish Statutory Instrument 2018 No. 6; institution-level, not specific to a campus or programme
The institution is recognized, licensed or accredited by the relevant national authority or accreditor. This does not by itself cover every campus or partner-run program. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)