Hospitality Management Degrees

Research doctorate

Doctor of Philosophy (Hospitality and Tourism)

UCSI University · Kuala Lumpur Campus, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Research checked 19 October 2026

Official program pageContact via directory form
Official award
Doctor of Philosophy (Hospitality and Tourism)
Delivery
On-campusFull-time or Part-time
Duration
Full Time (3 – 5 years) | Part Time (4 years – 8 years)
Awarded by
UCSI University

Where you study, who teaches, who awards

Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.

Where you study
Kuala Lumpur Campus, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaNo.1, Jalan Menara Gading, UCSI Heights 56000 Cheras, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Who teaches
UCSI University
Who awards the degree
UCSI UniversitySource
Arrangement
Awarding arrangement not statedThe official pages do not say who confers the degree.

About this program

Research doctorate completed by a single thesis, developing critical enquiry and research skills in hospitality and tourism.

Level
Research doctorate
Subject
Hospitality & tourism
Doctoral classification
Dedicated hospitality doctorate
Research areas
Hospitality and tourism

Study structure

Delivery
On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Attendance requirement not verified
Study intensity
Full-time and Part-timeFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
Duration
Full Time (3 – 5 years) | Part Time (4 years – 8 years)
Teaching languages
English
English pathway
English pathway not stated
Intakes
  • January · Kuala Lumpur Campus
  • May · Kuala Lumpur Campus
  • September · Kuala Lumpur Campus
Dissertation or research
One thesis; Research Methods (compulsory audit) in Year 1.
Internship or placement
Internship requirement not statedA placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Admissions

As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.

Entry qualification
A master's degree in the field or related fields, or equivalent; or a bachelor's with first-class (CGPA 3.67) in the field plus internal assessment.
Language requirements
International students: IELTS Academic 6.0, MUET Band 4 or ELS CIEP 109 or equivalent.
Intakes
  • January
  • May
  • September

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees and financial assistance

Domestic students · MYR · not stated on page

Tuition for Domestic students
ItemAmountApplies toDated
Approximate total fees, local students (without bridging course)Tuition · compulsoryIncludes: Estimate printed as 'Approximate Total Fees'.MYR 57,562whole program, not stated on pageDomestic students19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

Whole-program tuition (published): MYR 57,562

  • Whole-program tuition as published for not stated on page.

International students · MYR · not stated on page

Tuition for International students
ItemAmountApplies toDated
Approximate total fees, international students (without bridging course)Tuition · compulsoryIncludes: Estimate printed as 'Approximate Total Fees'.MYR 100,741whole program, not stated on pageInternational students19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

Whole-program tuition (published): MYR 100,741

  • Whole-program tuition as published for not stated on page.

Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.

No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.

Recognition

Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.

UCSI University, Kuala Lumpur Campus

  • Stated by the institutionMalaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA)Program accreditation

    Reference: MQA/PA15587

    Scope: Doctor of Philosophy (Hospitality and Tourism), Kuala Lumpur. Programme listed with an MQA accreditation code on UCSI's own programme page; the MQA register (MQR) could not be queried.

    A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source

We hold no recognition record for UCSI University. Check its status with the competent authority in its country.

Sources and verification

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Report a correction · Claim this profile