Hospitality Management Degrees

Research doctorate · PhD

Ph.D. in Hospitality, Tourism, and Retail Management

Texas Tech University · Hospitality, Fashion Design, & Retail Management · Texas Tech University main campus, Lubbock, Texas, United States

Research checked 19 October 2026

Official program pageContact via directory form
Official award
Doctor of Philosophy in Hospitality, Tourism, and Retail Management
Delivery
On-campusStudy intensity not stated
Duration
Not published
Awarded by
Texas Tech University

Where you study, who teaches, who awards

Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.

Where you study
Texas Tech University main campus, Lubbock, Texas, United States2500 Broadway Lubbock, Texas 79409
Who teaches
Texas Tech University
Who awards the degree
Texas Tech UniversitySource
Arrangement
Awarded by the institution itselfThe institution is itself degree-granting and confers this degree.

About this program

A 48-credit in-person research doctorate with three concentrations (hospitality administration, tourism administration, retail management) that prepares graduates for faculty and industry leadership roles.

Level
Research doctorate
Subject
Hospitality management, Hospitality & tourism
Specializations
Hospitality Administration, Tourism Administration, Retail Management
Doctoral classification
Named hospitality specialization within a broader doctorate
Research areas
Hospitality Administration

Study structure

Delivery
On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular on-campus attendance
Study intensity
Not statedFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
Duration
Not published
Credits
48 (US semester credit hours)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Teaching languages
English
English pathway
Taught entirely in EnglishTaught in English in Lubbock.
Curriculum areas
qualitative and quantitative research methods, theory and literature, statistics, teaching
Internship or placement
Internship requirement not statedA placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.

Admissions

As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.

Tests
GRE required.

Fees and financial assistance

Residents · USD · 2026-2027

Tuition for Residents
ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate programs tuition and fees (cost-of-attendance estimate), Texas residentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Cost-of-attendance estimate for graduate programs; the online MS is billed at online per-credit rates (the page states a range of $450 to $800 per credit hour for online graduate programs).USD 9,518per year, 2026-2027Residents19 October 2026Source

No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.

Non-residents · USD · 2026-2027

Tuition for Non-residents
ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate programs tuition and fees (cost-of-attendance estimate), non-residentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Cost-of-attendance estimate for graduate programs.USD 17,918per year, 2026-2027Non-residents19 October 2026Source

No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.

Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.

No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.

Recognition

Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.

Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University main campus

  • Verified in an official recordAccreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)Program accreditation

    Reference: Directory listing 'Texas Tech University': Grant of Accreditation for seven years (2022-2029).

    Scope: Hospitality program listed under this institution name in the ACPHA accredited programs directory; the directory entry does not state which degree level or campus it covers.

    A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time status.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Report a correction · Claim this profile