Master’s degree · MS
Master of Science in Hospitality and Retail Management
Texas Tech University · Hospitality, Fashion Design, & Retail Management · Texas Tech University main campus, Lubbock, Texas, United States
Research checked 19 October 2026
- Official award
- Master of Science in Hospitality and Retail Management
- Delivery
- On-campusStudy intensity not stated
- Duration
- Not published
- Awarded by
- Texas Tech University
Where you study, who teaches, who awards
Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.
- Where you study
- Texas Tech University main campus, Lubbock, Texas, United States2500 Broadway Lubbock, Texas 79409
- Who teaches
- Texas Tech University
- Who awards the degree
- Texas Tech UniversitySource
- Arrangement
- Awarded by the institution itselfThe institution is itself degree-granting and confers this degree.
About this program
A generalist 33-hour master's across hospitality and retail management with a professional (exit project) option and a research (thesis) option; offered on campus and online.
- Level
- Master’s degree
- Subject
- Hospitality management
- Specializations
- Professional Option, Research Option
Study structure
- Delivery
- On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Study intensity
- Not statedFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
- Duration
- Not published
- Credits
- 33 (US semester credit hours)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching languages
- English
- English pathway
- Taught entirely in EnglishTaught in English; an online version also exists.
- Intakes
- Fall · Texas Tech University main campus
- Spring · Texas Tech University main campus
- Curriculum areas
- hotel management, restaurant and foodservice management, event planning and management, tourism
- Dissertation or research
- Professional option ends with an exit project; research option includes 6 hours of research and thesis.
- Internship or placement
- Internship requirement not statedA placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.
Admissions
As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.
- Entry qualification
- A baccalaureate degree; work experience in hospitality or retail with a degree outside the field is also considered.
- Academic requirements
- A successful candidate will have an undergraduate GPA of 3.25 or higher.
- Language requirements
- Minimum TOEFL or IELTS scores published for international students.
- Tests
- GRE is not required for the on-campus M.S. program.
- Portfolio or interview
- The graduate faculty review candidates' files and conduct an interview prior to admitting students.
- Intakes and deadlines
- Fall (August)Deadline: January 15 (priority deadline for funding)
- Spring (January)Deadline: June 15
Fees and financial assistance
Residents · USD · 2026-2027
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate programs tuition and fees (cost-of-attendance estimate), Texas residentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Cost-of-attendance estimate for graduate programs; the online MS is billed at online per-credit rates (the page states a range of $450 to $800 per credit hour for online graduate programs). | USD 9,518per year, 2026-2027 | Residents | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.
Non-residents · USD · 2026-2027
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate programs tuition and fees (cost-of-attendance estimate), non-residentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Cost-of-attendance estimate for graduate programs. | USD 17,918per year, 2026-2027 | Non-residents | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is given. The published information does not state how many terms, credits or years the price covers, so no total is calculated.
Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.
No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.
Recognition
Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.
Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University main campus
Verified in an official recordAccreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)Program accreditation
Reference: Directory listing 'Texas Tech University': Grant of Accreditation for seven years (2022-2029).
Scope: Hospitality program listed under this institution name in the ACPHA accredited programs directory; the directory entry does not state which degree level or campus it covers.
A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time status.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.