Research doctorate · PhD
Doctor of Philosophy in Hospitality and Tourism
Sunway University · School of Hospitality and Tourism Management · Sunway University, Bandar Sunway, Bandar Sunway, Selangor, Malaysia
Research checked 19 October 2026
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Hospitality and Tourism
- Delivery
- On-campusFull-time or Part-time
- Duration
- 3 Years (full-time); 4 Years (part-time)
- Awarded by
- Sunway University
Where you study, who teaches, who awards
Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.
- Where you study
- Sunway University, Bandar Sunway, Bandar Sunway, Selangor, MalaysiaNo. 5, Jalan Universiti, Bandar Sunway, 47500 Selangor Darul Ehsan Malaysia
- Who teaches
- Sunway University
- Who awards the degree
- Sunway UniversitySource
- Arrangement
- Awarding arrangement not statedThe official pages do not say who confers the degree.
About this program
A research doctorate in hospitality and tourism assessed through an original thesis of at least 50,000 words, with proposal defence and viva voce.
- Level
- Research doctorate
- Subject
- Hospitality & tourism
- Doctoral classification
- Dedicated hospitality doctorate
- Research areas
- Hospitality and Service Management, Food, Health, and Well-being, Sustainability in Tourism and the Service Industries, Events and Destination Management, Mobilities
- Supervision
- Candidates receive close supervision with regular consultations with the supervisory team and regular progress reports.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Study intensity
- Full-time and Part-timeFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
- Duration
- 3 Years (full-time); 4 Years (part-time)
- Teaching languages
- English
- English pathway
- English pathway not stated
- Dissertation or research
- Original thesis (minimum 50,000 words), proposal defence and viva voce
- Internship or placement
- Internship requirement not statedA placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.
Admissions
As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.
- Entry qualification
- A Master's Degree (Level 7, MQF) or its equivalent in hospitality, tourism, or related fields
- Language requirements
- If prior study was not in English: IELTS 6.0 or equivalent, TOEFL 100 (internet-based) or PTE Academic 70 overall
Fees and financial assistance
Domestic students · MYR · 2026
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated total course fee, Malaysian studentsTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Page labels it the Estimated Total Course Fee, Year 2026. | MYR 60,100whole program, 2026 | Domestic students | 19 October 2026Source |
Whole-program tuition (published): MYR 60,100
- Whole-program tuition as published for 2026.
International students · USD · 2026
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated total course fee, international students (indicative, paid in RM equivalent)Tuition · compulsoryIncludes: Page describes the USD figure as indicative and subject to the prevalent exchange rate. | USD 15,547whole program, 2026 | International students | 19 October 2026Source |
Whole-program tuition (published): USD 15,547
- Whole-program tuition as published for 2026.
Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.
No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.
Recognition
Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.
Sunway University, Sunway University, Bandar Sunway
Stated by the institutionCodes printed on the programme page (issuing body not named)Program accreditation
Reference: (N/810/8/0021)(04/28)(MQA/FA14575)
Scope: Doctor of Philosophy in Hospitality and Tourism only; not checked in the MQA register.
A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
We hold no recognition record for Sunway University. Check its status with the competent authority in its country.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)