Bachelor’s degree · BS
Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management (B.S.)
South Dakota State University · Brookings Main Campus, Brookings, South Dakota, United States
Research checked 19 October 2026
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science in Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management
- Delivery
- On-campusStudy intensity not stated
- Duration
- 4 years
- Awarded by
- South Dakota State University
Where you study, who teaches, who awards
Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.
- Where you study
- Brookings Main Campus, Brookings, South Dakota, United States
- Who teaches
- South Dakota State University
- Who awards the degree
- South Dakota State UniversitySource
- Arrangement
- Awarded by the institution itselfThe institution is itself degree-granting and confers this degree.
About this program
Four-year bachelor's combining marketing, business, tourism and hospitality, with two professional practicum experiences totaling 500 hours.
- Level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Subject
- Hospitality & tourism, Hospitality & events
Study structure
- Delivery
- On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Study intensity
- Not statedFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
- Duration
- 4 years
- Credits
- 120 (US semester credit hours)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching languages
- English
- English pathway
- English pathway not stated
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring, Summer · Brookings Main Campus
- Curriculum areas
- Marketing, Business, Tourism, Hospitality, Events
- Internship or placement
- Internship or placement requiredTwo professional practicum experiences providing introductory and supervisory level industry experience.Length: 500 hoursA placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.
Admissions
As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring, Summer
Fees and financial assistance
Residents · USD · 2026-2027
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| On-campus undergraduate tuition, residentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Cost per credit hour of on-campus undergraduate tuition; fees are listed separately by the university. | USD 273per credit, 2026-2027 | Residents | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total (not a published figure): USD 32,760
- Published per-credit tuition of USD 273 multiplied by the published 120 credits.
- Assumes the published rate stays the same for every year of study; institutions can change fees.
Non-residents · USD · 2026-2027
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| On-campus undergraduate tuition, nonresidentTuition · compulsoryIncludes: Cost per credit hour of on-campus undergraduate tuition; reduced rates exist for some groups (e.g. Western Undergraduate Exchange); fees are listed separately. | USD 396.30per credit, 2026-2027 | Non-residents | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total (not a published figure): USD 47,556
- Published per-credit tuition of USD 396.30 multiplied by the published 120 credits.
- Assumes the published rate stays the same for every year of study; institutions can change fees.
Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.
No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.
Recognition
Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.
South Dakota State University, Brookings Main Campus
Verified in an official recordAccreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)Program accreditation
Reference: Directory listing 'South Dakota State University': Grant of Accreditation for seven years (2023 -2030).
Scope: Hospitality program listed under this institution name in the ACPHA accredited programs directory; the directory entry does not state which degree level or campus it covers.
A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
Verified in an official recordAccreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)Program accreditation
Reference: ACPHA 'Profile of Accredited Program' page for this institution
Scope: Degrees listed in the ACPHA profile of the accredited program: BS Hospitality, Tourism, and Event Management. Applies to the program named in the profile; other degrees or campuses of the institution are not covered by this record.
A specific program is accredited by a quality or industry body. Check the scope: campus, level and dates. Checked 19 October 2026. Source
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time status.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.