Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Applied Management (Hotel and Tourism Management)
Ara Institute of Canterbury · Madras Street Campus, Christchurch, New Zealand
Research checked 19 October 2026
- Official award
- Bachelor of Applied Management (Hotel and Tourism Management)
- Delivery
- On-campusFull-time or Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time - 3 Years (Part-time options available)
- Awarded by
- Ara Institute of Canterbury
Where you study, who teaches, who awards
Three separate questions. A school can teach a degree that another institution awards, and recognition of one does not extend to the other.
- Where you study
- Madras Street Campus, Christchurch, New Zealand
- Who teaches
- Ara Institute of Canterbury
- Who awards the degree
- Ara Institute of CanterburySource
- Arrangement
- Awarded by the institution itselfThe institution is itself degree-granting and confers this degree.
About this program
Three-year applied management degree with a hotel and tourism strand: hotel operations, rooms division and front office, tourism principles and policy, and workplace-based projects.
- Level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Subject
- Hospitality & tourism, Hotel management
- National level
- undefined level Level 7As stated in the source. A framework level does not make different national awards equivalent.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On-campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular on-campus attendance
- Study intensity
- Full-time and Part-timeFull-time and part-time are shown only when the institution states them.
- Duration
- Full-time - 3 Years (Part-time options available)
- Credits
- 360 (NZQF credits)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching languages
- English
- English pathway
- English pathway not stated
- Intakes
- 15 February 2027 · Madras Street Campus
- Curriculum areas
- Hotel and tourism operations, Rooms division and front office management, Facilities and service systems management, Customer engagement and experience design, Tourism principles, transport and visitor flows, Tourism policy, planning and destination thinking, Strategic management and decision making
- Internship or placement
- Internship requirement not statedThe page lists 'Work placement with workplace and academic supervision' among learning methods; a required duration is not stated.A placement requirement is not a promise of placement, employment or a visa.
Admissions
As published by the institution. This directory does not take applications and cannot predict admission.
- Entry qualification
- University Entrance as specified by NZQA; or New Zealand Certificate in Study and Employment Pathways (Level 4) Open Pathway; or a relevant qualification at Level 4 or above.
- Language requirements
- Overall IELTS 6.0 Academic with 5.5 in each of Listening, Reading, Writing, Speaking (for applicants whose first language is not English)
- Domestic and international applicants
- International applicants not meeting standard requirements may apply for discretionary admission.
- Intakes
- 15 February 2027
Fees and financial assistance
International students · NZD · 2026
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, international students, 2026Tuition · compulsoryIncludes: Fee printed under "Fees for 2026" | NZD 26,572per year, 2026 | International students | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total (not a published figure): NZD 79,716
- Published annual tuition of NZD 26,572 multiplied by the published program length of 3 years.
- Assumes the published rate stays the same for every year of study; institutions can change fees.
Domestic students · NZD · 2026
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, domestic students, 2026 (range)Tuition · compulsoryIncludes: Lower end of the printed range NZD 8,088 - 9,052 per year | NZD 8,088per year, 2026 | Domestic students | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total (not a published figure): NZD 24,264
- Published annual tuition of NZD 8,088 multiplied by the published program length of 3 years.
- Assumes the published rate stays the same for every year of study; institutions can change fees.
Compulsory extras beyond tuition
Accommodation, meals, uniforms, travel and other charges the institution lists as required or does not mark optional. They are not part of any tuition total above unless the assumptions say so.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indicative student services feeOther compulsory charges · compulsoryIncludes: Indicative; listed separately from tuition | NZD 392.50per year, 2026 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Amounts are shown in the original currency and are never converted. Each price keeps its basis (per credit, term, year or whole program). Fee eligibility is decided by each institution, not by nationality alone.
No scholarship or assistance specific to this program was found on the pages we reviewed. Ask the institution about funding.
Recognition
Scoped to what each record covers: the institution, a campus, the authority to award, or this program. Rankings are not recognition and association membership is not accreditation.
Ara Institute of Canterbury, Madras Street Campus
No recognition record for this school, campus or program has been found yet. That does not mean there is none; ask the institution.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a source and a quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)